Pythium?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by newstarter, Jul 23, 2004.

1. Just lost my crop to this f***ing thing. Only had 6 weeks to go. Im using NFT (or was). If I go to pots and drip feeders will this eliminate the risk next time?

Any sugestions?

2. what exactly is that i'm new to growing is that a type of fungus

3. Pythium Root Rot (Pythium spp.) - Pythium root rot can be caused by several different species of the fungus Pythium. These fungi are common in field soil, sand or sediment of surface water supplies, and dead roots of previous crops. Pythium has also been found in some commercially available soilless potting mixes. Pythium is easily introduced into pasteurized soil or soilless mixes by using dirty tools, dirty pots or flats, walking on or allowing pets to walk on the mixes and by dumping the mixes on benches or potting shed floors that have not been thoroughly cleaned. When introduced into pasteurized soil or soilless mixes, Pythium can cause severe root rot because it has few competitors to check its activity. This fungus poses a threat to crops grown hydroponic systems. If the reservoir is heavily contaminated with debris or soil harboring Pythium, the fungus can spread to a large number of plants quickly. If the fungus infests a cutting bed or if contaminated water is used in propagation, large losses usually occur. Almost all plants are susceptible to Pythium root rot. Root tips which are very important in taking up nutrients and water are attacked and killed. Pythium also can rot the base of unrooted cuttings. Symptoms of Pythium include: Stunted plants, root tips are brown and dead, Plants yellow and die, Plants wilt at mid-day and may recover at night, rot may proceed up the stem, brown tissue on the outer portion of the root easily pulls off leaving a bare strand of vascular tissue exposed, and the cells of roots contain many microscopic thick-walled spores.