Pulse Width Modulation

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by lXtreeml, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Being an automotive technician, I see this all day and in just about every application it is more useful than straight control. Let me explain first what it is..
    for example 12/12 normally is off as long as it is on, so a sample of PWM of it would be off for 1 second and on for 1 second. So instead of your lights being on for 12 hours then off, it would just flicker.
    as long as it is on as long is its of, like a 50/50 ratio the PWM rate would be the same. so you could do 10 seconds on 10 seconds off too and it would be the same. Could this produce thicker and faster flowering?
    Has anyone tried to see if this induces flowering differently? or is it the long periods without light that cause the plant to start flowering?

2. You obviously don't know anything about how and why the MJ plant flowers. It needs long, uninterrupted dark to trigger the hormonal reaction. It isn't a matter of ratios to be divided up however you want.

3. don't be condescending about it.. I actually asked this as part of my post. I'm a beginner as every one on this forum was at one time. I'll try to take it as you suggesting rather than what it seems like though. Someone locally said to me something about giving only a few hours of light and mostly dark to make fast yeilds but low potency which is what I'm assuming is not what you want so I wondered what ways you could mess with your light to effect flowering or if anyone has tried this. btw ofcourse I know nothing about it.. which is why I come here? :rolleyes:

4. I can't see any benefit to the plant or the grower with this idea, most of us use a ballast in out system somewhere, continual on/off only blows out the ballast, even wears it out, and cost more to run...blah! blah!, sorry bud, toasties right, you need total darkness and quality light, when it's on....lol