Pulled over and searched - need advice.

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by Blointman, Apr 12, 2009.

1. #1 Blointman, Apr 12, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 12, 2009
    ***** If you are here to flame or give any negative comments, please leave now *****

Alright so here's the deal - I got pulled in South Carolina today (I'm a North Carolina resident) going 54 in a 45. The cop seemed cool, however while I was pulling over i tossed my grinder on the back floorboard just to get it off the dash. As I had not been smoking, I almost got away with but he realized i had an automatic seat belt when I had told him I had reached backwards to put my seat belt on.. which appeared "suspicious" that I lied about it. Long story short he searched my car and found the grinder, which had only a bowl pack in it at most. I received a ticket for speeding and another for "simple possession of marijuana".

-Speeding ticket = $81
    -Possession = $570

The officer said I can attend the court date in bumfuck nowhere, SC which is like 3 hours from my house, and try to receive a conditional discharge - basically take drug classes and have the charge dropped. Or since cannabis is decriminalized in NC I can simply send the money to the court and have the charge on my record.

What do you guys suggest I do? I'm 18 and a senior in HS, I don't want the charge to screw any scholarships or grants over (could it?) but my family isn't the wealthiest and I feel that to get a lawyer for the court date would cost well over $650 for the 2 tickets.

Please leave feedback or PM with advice. I really need it.

2. Don't use a lawyer then, just go to court and defend you case :).

should be a reasonable reason to go, why would you not want to that's a serious bill