Proper terminology....

Discussion in 'Tattoo, Piercings and Body Art' started by JenWearsPrada, May 31, 2012.

1. Doe's it bother anyone as much as it does me when people say "oh i like you're gauges" or "how long did it take you to gauge your ears?!"

Ugh... lol.... I know some people dont care but that really bothers me. Ive been stretching for 9 years and I know it truly gets under my skin like nothing else.

2. Yea, it's annoying. But lots of things can be annoying, so I generally just ignore it.

Really, it doesn't bother me... it just makes me think the person doesn't know what they're talking about. So I just try my best to not change my judgement of them based on a silly word, and then emphasize words like "stretched" or "plugs" when I reply. :) I don't bother correcting people unless they're obnoxious about it.

3. Doesn't bother me one bit.

I use the proper terminology, but if someone asks me a question about my stretched lobes using the wrong terminology I'm not gonna freak out and correct them.

4. Op maybe try some meditation, or counseling. I'm not sure what to say if something so minor is actually affecting you. I'm sorry to hear about your problem.

5. Dont get me wrong. I dont flip. The ones the bug me are the ones that have been doing it for years... the ones that think when your ears bleed its normal. lol. And wont listen otherwise.

6. Please tell us more about how bad your life is OP

7. I am a piercer, been stretching my lobes for almost 6 years, I am visibly tattooed, and I have a stretched septum. Nothing bothers me more than ignorance, and thanks to kids these days, that's all we have. When I was working at a studio in the mall I would direct anyone looking for "gauges" to check their car. I have friends that use the term in describing me/my piercings and its upsetting how its okay for people to bastardize my industry and tell me "whatever, that's what everyone calls them".