Profitability and Ease of Legally Growing in Canada

Discussion in 'Marijuana Business and Industry' started by AGoldstein, Jan 12, 2020.

1. Hi, I'm an organic farmer from the US. I've worked at a bunch of different fruit, vegetable, herb, and flower farms and I really enjoy farming but it's not at all lucrative and it's difficult to survive as a farm-worker .Even small farm owners in the Northeast I've talked with struggle to make a living. I've been saving up money for land to start an organic permaculture farm but I'm trying to decide if it makes sense to move to Canada and buy land there to grow cannabis along with fruit, veg, etc. I know there's potentially a lot more money in cannabis and it helps a lot of people, so that is appealing to me, and I have experience growing it. But I would like to know is it difficult to get into the cannabis market in Canada? All the regulations, cost of licenses, the fact that you need a fully built facility before even applying, moving costs, and paperwork involved in becoming a resident is intimidating. The growing season is also short in Canada. Really the only reason I would buy land there is because it's the only place in the world aside from Uruguay where it's fully legal to grow. I think I would be happier growing food somewhere in the tropics but I think I would struggle to make a living there just growing food. Has anyone here from the US moved to Canada to grow? If so, is this something you would recommend? Any insight anyone could impart about the process would be appreciated.

2. In my experience, marijuana would be worth growing for cash if your harvesting pounds. With some sort of trimming device or many people.

Just went legal here in Michigan, prices are already under $100/oz
    And that's high grade.

Media is also getting people to go for wax increasingly

• Creative Creative x 1
  3. Your prices went down?
    $100 per oz, even in USD sounds ridiculously cheap...