PPM question help please

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by wanabegrenthumb, Jun 28, 2011.

1. setup is 2 bubble buckets with 400 hps

I am using the flora 3 part series from GH with liquid karma and cal mag..

plants are 12 days old and Im ruining the nutes at 1/4 strength per recommended. I used the ppm calculator that GH provides. ( no spot for liquid karma or cal mag)

when I figure what I am using the PPM comes in at 75 right now. Ill go to the strength they recommend in two weeks. next week going to 1/2 strength then 3rd week full strength. That will put me at around 387 according to there PPM calculator. they say that is the mix for "Mild Veg" the mix they provide for "aggressive veg" brings the PPM to a 779.

Am I missing something here??? I would have thought that those PPM numbers are kinda low???? I am a noob and really dont know. I know that I have liquid Karma in it too will that bring the ppm levels up a little???

What should I be shooting for on PPM???
    Any help is greatly greatly appreciated!:confused:

2. Ppm 75??? Waaaaaaay too low in my opinion. I use advanced nutrients and at 2 weeks or 5-6" my ppm are put at 500 (whether from seed or clone). Until flowering, i dont let it get over 700. Make sure that ph stays in check, thats first and foremost to the ppm.

3. Here are the plants one was burned too close to the light. The smaller one was a way late bloomer, not sure Wha the two spots are?? Any suggestions? What do you think about the one that was burned?

Attached Files:

4. O.K. you have two plants per pot, hope they are both females cause to seperate them if you have a male will be courting disaster. How are you arriving at your PPM? according to their computation? Do you have a PH/EC/PPM meter?
    I would go with the recommended dosage until you plants start to show signs of a change, yellowing, and other symptons of stress.
    I use GH myself and follow the doseage according to the instructions on the bottles.