Powdery mildew on curing buds

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by firstnamelast, Dec 7, 2018.

1. I've also posted this in the sick plants forum but I figured it would not hurt to post here as well considering I have learned my techniques from this part of the board.

I made the mistake of jarring my nugs a little too wet. While I have been burping regularly and checking the nugs daily, today I noticed what looks likes tiny white specks on a few of the nugs. I assume the specks are botrytis.

I have spread all the nugs out on a cookie sheet in hopes of drying them out completely and killing the spores.

My question is has anyone else had similar experiences? Can I save this batch or do I need to toss it? Any feedback would be great.

Thanks, everyone

2. Toss it. Sorry

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Tragic . I've been growing for over two years with no hickups then I let this happen . Thanks for the feedback

• Like Like x 1
  4. I've even tried to do a bud wash and let dry. Still comes back. Wondering if u kill it when u decarb and make oil??

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

5. Toss it, and chalk it up to experience. It’s happened to the best of us.

• Agree Agree x 3
  6. #6 Taoist Farmer, Dec 8, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2018
    Next time,You can get a small humidity meter that will fit in a jar and check it after about an hour or so after placing your flowers in, if it shows higher than 65% or so, take them out and let dry some more, I'm no expert but this works for me.
    I like to cure at 60%,

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  7. aW is the measurement “active water” for the food/drug industry. Cannabis industry labs say .65aW is passable. At .60aW there is no microbial growth. I have no idea what that feels like. Measuring requires a lab test or a $1500. machine.

• Informative Informative x 1
  8. Y'know...... I haven't experienced this problem, so I'm just brainstorming outta my ass.