Possible root problem???

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by killarblade007, May 2, 2010.

1. #1 killarblade007, May 2, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2010
    Hi all,

I'm on my second (third if you count the plant I killed) grow using an Aerogarden. Yesterday I noticed white spots on the base of the stem and it seems to be making its way up.

The plant is still growing about an half inch per day and looks healthy. But I'm no expert...
    Any reason to be concerned?

Advice welcome.

Setup:
    Aerogarden (removed stock bulbs)
    400w HPS (1 week into flowering)
    LED Glow Panel
    4 CFLs
    Mylar around back, sides and top
    1 airstone
    Super Bloom 12-55-6

Attached Files:

2. More Pictures taken April 14th.

Attached Files:

3. #3 Sativanya, May 2, 2010
    I think it's the aerogarden that you are using that's giving you problems. What do you need the bubble stone for? Sounds like your setup is a cross between aero and dwc. Another thing is that it's white, which means inside the res there is light and that's a possible case of algae just waiting. Also do you empty the res out when you do your res change, or just add nutrient water? Also when you top the res off are you using just fresh ph'd water? To me it looks like a bit of nute burn with an improper setup.

4. #4 killarblade007, May 2, 2010

I read somewhere that the airstone adds oxygen to the water and promotes root growth. I taped over all the unused holes and around to sides to try to prevent light from getting in. Can't do anything about the front flap. I change the water about once a week or when the water gets hot. Topping up, sometimes I add a little super bloom if it near the end of the week and plain water if its mid week (rain water, it's real clean here). I add half strength super bloom to the water and dilute it even more.

I use a hose to suck out the water and replace with fresh water.