Please recommend me a strain for my climate!

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by jayyyb, Mar 16, 2013.

1. Hello everyone.

I'm having trouble deciding on a suitable strain.

I'm lucky to be in a fairly remote mountainous area, I'll be planting approximately 250m up outdoors.

We have a normal mild warm spring, but then a very rainy very humid season between mid June through to mid August, then it evens out in September again. Night times during the summer are still quite humid too. Temperatures of 24-28 Celsius during the day.

So I guess I need to look at Sativa strains, or those that are more resistant to mould.

However I'm aware that I'm a total beginner, so I'm looking for a seed that is suitable for outdoors, easy to grow and will result in a decent yield.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. Just get a handful of different seeds and grow them all.

Although some strains work better in different regions, most plants will grow in any environment given that it's within the range of a healthy growing environment. Some may grow better than others, but that's something you'll have to keep in mind when you buy your second set of seeds.

If anything, buy regular seeds and chop the males that aren't growing as vigorously. Then, you can breed that male with your best female so you have seeds that will be well suited for your environment. Plus, you won't have to buy any seeds anymore.

3. Thanks for the reply.

Bearing in mind that I'm a complete beginner, I feel a bit overwhelmed by the idea of potentially breeding males with best females etc...

I was just hoping for some recommendations of feminised seeds that will flower fairly easily for a beginner in my climate and situation.

When I use the longitude / latitude climate zone tool on seedfinder, the results come back with:

Diesel Ryder
    Short Ryder

Should I take these results with a pinch of salt? Neither of these strains seem to come feminised either.