Please help coco coir/soil mix?

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by Chil22, Apr 10, 2016.

1. So I have 20 lbs of kind soil "hot soil", 2 bags of fox farm ocean forest, a huge block of Coco coir and a big sack of perlite.. I'm a total newbie at this but want to grow organic as I'm a medical patient I figured I'd mix the Coco with those soils so its not so strong on the plants, they are auto flowers i heard they do better in lower nutrient soil as well as higher porous soil .. So if I wanted to have 5 5 gallon buckets filled, how would I go about doing so.. .I was thinking about putting some rocks at bottom of bucket to help with drainage I also drilled some holes in such buckets, for the autos airy soil requirements.. Thank you very much guys

2. Im not familiar with autos but heres my opinion- sounds like ur basically diluting your hot soil with coco coir, which is honestly what i would use if i was to dilute soil. If not coco coir, then peat moss or leaf mold. I personally would make sure between 10% and 35% of your soil is airation. Also might want to consider supplementing some calcium carbonate or calcium phosphate since coco tends to not let go of calcium.
    Also watch out for fungus gnats, they love that shit

• Like Like x 1
  3. Rocks at the bottom of your buckets will do nothing besides making your buckets heavy.

And you'll lose soil space.

J

• Like Like x 2
  4. Ive always thought that coco is too soggy without drainage, u disagree jerry? Or perhaps coco being mixed into soil somehow fixes the drainage problem? I apologize if i gave false information of any sort, but from what ive learned, from first hand experience with coco coir, and making soil from coco coir, lack of drainage/airation can cause a soggy medium deficient of oxygen.

lovin u (=