Platinum and diamond nails

Discussion in 'Smoking Accessories Q&A' started by DiamondDabs, Feb 4, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. #1 DiamondDabs, Feb 4, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2014
    I'm a goldsmith by trade and someone told me about titanium nail setups. Your basic screw, water pipe connecting. Titanium, when exposed to the air forms an oxidation layer, and when heated to a certain point, releases titanium dioxide as an effect. Inhalation of titanium dioxide has been linked to a number of issues in the human body: see CDC website PDF, http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/81-123/pdfs/0617.pdf

This has prompted me into thinking about a healthier solution that would have some sort of market appeal. I've developed a patented design for platinum nails built into a male-male glass on glass adaptor. I'm working with a local artisan glass shop to come up with a legitimate product for a vacant market slot. My initial design has a small .05 ct diamond in the base set in platinum tube fused to the glass on glass section. This is a high end product, that is both user friendly and highly functional.

I'm looking to see if people show interest. Pricing will vary depending on the custom glass on glass connection. I'm working on finding the best product that will be cost effective. Based on figures I've ran, retail price for these will be around $275 up.

[​IMG]

These are the two basic prototypes. The first has seen the rigors of daily use, I'm not in a legal state, so I've subjected the platinum to excessive propane heat, and I have been vaping candle wax to simulate an extract. For 1 1/2 weeks I've tested it as a heavy medicater would and as you can see, the platinum still looks great.

[​IMG]

I've used a 25ml flask as a bell, and it should all work out just fine.

[​IMG]