Planting Weed in my Window

Discussion in 'Micro Grows' started by cantcatchmenow, Oct 16, 2010.

1. Hey everyone, I'm new to this, so don't make fun of me that I don't understand most things, lol.
    I just have a couple questions - Well I just recently planted some weed as a joke and it accidentally started growing. I planted 5, and 3 came up. One of them died. I now have two baby healthy plants but their living conditions are probably unacceptable - In the window of my top-floor apartment, growing in mulch in a shoebox. I've just gotten to thinking of this as a challenge - How long can I keep these plants alive?
    Obviously the first thing I can think of doing is getting some new soil for them, which I will do at some point when I have the time/money. But I was also wondering - How much sun/light do they need a day? I have them in a spot where they get some clear sunlight from probably around 11am - 3pm. Is this enough/too much? I used to think it was supposed to be grown in the dark, but I've just been growing them like normal plants and they seem to be doing fine.
    I'm not interested in purchasing a book, or special fertilizer and whatnot. I just want to know what I could do to improve the living conditions of these two lonely pot plants.

2. Go to a hardware store and purchase:

-200W or So of CFL light bulbs, with the highest wattage bulbs they have
    -Mogul Socket Adapters for these bulbs
    -Reflectors if they have them.

Find a way to mount these lights over your plants. You still have a chance to get something out of thesep plants, but they need WAY more light, especially seeing how winter is fast approaching.

3. Thanks, that makes sense. How much do you think that'll cost in total?

4. just throw them out. they will never live to flower under those conditions.