Plant to tall

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by NaTeFx48, Feb 10, 2016.

1. Hi all so im a very beginner grower if that makes sense. Ive managed to get my plant to this stage with ease except for the fact my plant seems to have stretched to far before producing leaves. Its top heavy and if i get any water on the leaves while watering it wants to fall over. However when i very carefully dry the leaves with a paper towel it will stay tall and proud. My question is can i put say a popsicle stick in the soil and loosely put some string around the stem to help support it? Or will this mess up the growth rate? Also any advice is greatly appreciated! [​IMG] [​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum mobile app

2. Yea you can stick something in the soil to prop it up. I wouldn't use wood because it absorbs moisture and rots pretty quickly. I usually use a plastic knife from a take away restaurant. You can also bury more of the stem to decrease its height. The real issue is why is it stretching so much. What kind of light are you using and how far away is it from the top of the leaves?

3. Plant needs more/closer lights in the future.

4. Lower the lights close to the plant raise it as it grows the plant is trying to reach light

5. I WAS using a high pressure sodium bulb but i then switched over to a CFL today. Also i was wondering what you guys thought of the plant so far? Have i started out okay? Is there potential?

6. Pretty sure HPS are for flowering and metal halide are for vegging. Just stick the CFLs 2-3" from plant

7. I gotcha thanks a bunch guys!!

8. Na I use HPS for both veg and flower and get amazing results you just have to be able to get rid of the heat and have your light as low as possible without burning your plants, a good indication is put ur hand palm up on top of your plants if ur wrist burns/ is to hot lift your lights :) everything depends on strain etc but it all looks good so far man