PHP/SQL Developer

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by dman91, Nov 6, 2009.

1. #1 dman91, Nov 6, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 6, 2009
    Hello GC,
    I am a web developer and a full time college student. A few months ago I thought of this idea and ever since, I've been running with it. I was hoping that maybe I could get in touch with some fellow developers and maybe get some feedback on my project? Anyways, I'll start off by giving a brief description of what it is I'm trying to do.

So we're all familiar with GC and possibly some other Cannabis forums. The major problem I see with all cannabis communities is that the content is very unorganized and lots of the time people are all too willing to say "search the forums" without even considering how cluttered and unorganized things really are(not to mention the search function sucks). So this is my vision, I want to create a cannabis community that is 100% custom and does a great job of organizing information about the plant we all know and love. I've been working on this project for 3-4 months now and I've made ALOT of progress. I'm not spamming(do you see a url?), I simply want some feedback from some fellow developers. Also please keep in mind that I've been in web development for over 6+ years and I'm not just rambling on about ideas that I can't accompish(infact, most of the following is already finished).

So here are a few of the ideas that I thought of(and am implementing).

Price Database - This could be considered the idea that started my idea. Originally I wanted to create a website where the prices of street-level purchased cannabis was documented. Eventually you could type in any city, region, or country and see price statistics about cannabis in that area(avg price per gram(low, mid, high grade) and other relevant content about that city. This Price database goes a lot deeper then this but this is all the info that I want to reveal about it atm.