PH Goes UP but Plants Not Eating

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by Beachbound, Dec 20, 2011.

1. HI All,, I am a newbie to Hydroponics and transplanted my clones into the RDWC just over 3 weeks ago.

I did a water change last Sunday and increased the nutrient solution. I have had a heck of a time getting the PH down to the 5.6 range, and when I do, it just continues to climb until it hits about 5.8 then levels off and drifts up to 6.0 over night, and the PPM's dont seem to be changing at all? PPMs never seem to change and the plants look just fine and growing quite fast.

For example, yesterday morning my PH climbed to 6.0, so I PH'd DOWN to 5.7 with a PPM of 660 (.5 conv), and watched the PH climb to 5.8 by about 6:00pm.

This morning, my PH is at 6.0 and my PPMs are 657 (.5 conv) (with a margin of error in the reading, are the plants eating at all?)

NOW,, I know that the PH is supposed to climb (SLOWLY) and the PPM's are supposed to be about the same (if you have a balanced system), but I don't believe I am there. I believe my PH is climbing a little fast for the perfect balance, and I am trying to find out what my next step should be??

I also realize that 6.0 is not a bad place to be sitting, but that also means they are not getting the benefit of the lower PH Values. (again climbing too fast)

Do I just continue to PH Down every day, or Should I be increasing my Nute Strength?

VITALS as of This Morning (lights on)::
    PH = 5.96
    PPM = 657 (.5 conv)
    Air Temp = 70
    Water = 68.5
    Humidity = 42%

Roots look good
    Water is Clean and Does not smell rotten

Any Advice for me at this point :confused:

Attached Files:

2. What medium are you growing in?

3. Just Hydroton that was rinsed quite well, has been in there since day one, and never showed any signs of mucking/dirtying up my water.