PH Drift -- Canna Coco

Discussion in 'Coco Coir' started by Gliese581g, Jan 31, 2013.

1. I've only started using my pH meter fastidiously as of late and I've noticed something.

I water by hand and try to have 30% run off. I will pH my nute solution to 5.8 as I've been advised. But I've noticed that if I leave a bit of the solution in a glass and measure it again a few hours later, the PH goes up substantially (i.e., it will be 5.8 at the time of waterings, but like 6 hours later it's 6.2). 24 hours later and it can be still higher.

I water with tap water that has a ppm of about 100 and a ph of 7.3 -- it's Toronto city water, nothing hard.

Is this normal? I recall reading that pH naturally wants to drift back to a neutral state so I figured it was normal. I'm just worried that my plants might be experiencing lockout. This crop does not look as good as I hoped, but I'm new to the Canna line and still fine tuning.

Last question: if my nute solution going in is 5.8, what should my runoff ph be? Thanks.

I'm using A/B, a bit of cal mag, rhizo and cannazym.

2. it is normal when adding Cal/Mag to your nutrient solution, there seems to be a chemical reaction that makes Magnesium raise the ph on your solution, i too had noticed the delayed change on PH levels, one solution was to only using RO water, because even-though my local tap water quality is pretty good, they add minerals that make water alkaline on purpose to kill bacteria.
    Those minerals buffer PH and takes more PH Down solution to bring it down. maybe even creating a PH Nutrient Lockout. so avoid all that fuzz and just use RO filtered water

3. I didn't write this myself but here's the best explanation I've found so far:

Why is maintaining a stable pH so difficult?

Three major factors tend to disrupt the stability of the pH in any hydroponic system. Learning to control these influences is essential for a successful harvest.

pH imperfection #1: the pH of the water used to dilute nutrients