Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

past drug use and finding job in criminal justice

Discussion in 'Marijuana Consumption Q&A' started by phillymaniac49, May 19, 2012.

1. So i have smoked about a year, like once or twice a week. I'm currently 18, freshman in college. I am majoring in chemistry, looking to be a forensic toxologist, or something in the forensic sciences field.
    For those not familiar, a forensic toxicologist performs scientific tests on tissue samples and bodily fluids in order to determine whether any foreign drugs or chemicals are present in the body. As part of a crime investigating team, a forensic toxicologist will identify substances within the body that may have caused the crime.

I only thought that past drug use pertained to police officers, but I have read that it may apply to any criminal justice job depending on the dept. I am looking at an intern that would be good, and it says "Due to the fact that successful applicants may work closely with narcotics detectives, a zero tolerance policy is in effect as it pertains to past participation in the drug trade." Also says that I would have to undergo a polygraph test, which I would assume would ask about my drug history. By the words participating in drug trade, does that mean selling? I have never sold in my life, only bought. Should I even bother applying? Should I look into changing major/career path?

Thanks blades, jus stressin:(