Outdoor growing in a pot?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by silky--, Mar 11, 2010.

1. Hey guys,
    I'm new to outdoor growing, and I need some help. I live in Vancouver, and am going to grow outdoor my first time.

Circumstances force me to use pots to grow outdoor, because of too much clay in the ground, and the area is too uneven to stick my girls directly in the dirt.

What size pot should I buy (the maximum size pot I need)? What mix of dirt should I use? And when should I start planting them outside this year, in Vancouver?

2. With pots the bigger the better. So, I would set a budget of how much you are willing to spend on this project and use that to judge how big a pots you can afford. I would recommend you do a drip system if you can - pots dry out pretty quick. Also from what I have seen the smart pots get better results than the plastic pots.

As for dirt, look around for a local soil company. Buying soil in bulk direct from the company that makes it will be much cheaper than buying 40 lb. bags from a hydro store. For example you can get good organic soil for as little as $15-$45 a yard where I am at. That same amount of bagged soil from a hydro store could easily cost you $1,000

Not familiar with the seasons in Vancouver so I can't help you with that one. Good luck!

3. 5 gallon bucket works well, but yeahh..the bigger the better.

4. I'm a part of that 1%er of "bad" weed smokers, I don't buy anything I need for growing marijuana, just jack soil/pots/fertilizer from peoples frontyards ;)

Anyways, what is the largest pot size I'd need if I put 1 plant in it's own seperate pot. 3 gallons? 5? That's what I'm asking.

Thanks for your input :hello:

5. #5 silky--, Mar 11, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 11, 2010

Sounds good!
    When should I start germination around here? It snowed today -.-

Sorry for double post!

6. All depends on how big you want the plant to be. 1 gallon per foot.