Outdoor grow - first time, total noobcake

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by dark ambience, Oct 12, 2008.

1. Hi Guys,

A friend of me recently gave me around 50 seeds that she had plucked from her buds over time.

It has just gone Spring here in Australia, and I want to give outdoor growing a go. Just have a few newbie questions

1. What is the best method for germination - the wet paper towel in a dark place for a few days?

2. What sort of soil should I opt for - I was thinking of just getting a bag of potting mix and some small pots.

3. In regards to fertalising, i guess it is not necessary until later on in the plants life when it is stronger? Is there anything i should add to the soil to stimulate sprouting/growth? What sort of basic ferts would you recommend for me?

4. Are there any ramifications of starting the grow at my house, then relocating to a more discreet area? At what stage would be best for transportation?

Any help with this would be much appreciated - I'll be sure to post up some pics of my progress!

2. #2 cantharis, Oct 12, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 12, 2008
    I have never found any advantage whatever in germinating seeds in paper towels, it just adds a totally unnecessary extra step. I can list a number of DISadvantages.
    I put my seeds 4 mm deep in soil, keep them warm and moist, they pop in 1 to 5 days.
    If you were growing tomatoes you would do what it says on the packet and plant them in soil.

Soil - most of us, especially organic growers, find that many bought composts are peat (or even sawdust with charcoal to make it black) and little else. I add volcanic rock and sand to help it drain, and wormcastings or manure to add nutrition. There are probably as many different mixes as there are growers - lots of threads on this to SEARCH - a massive subject.