Organic soil

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by Clearsky, Jul 28, 2021.

1. Well I was going to try a organic run to see how it works out, bought this soil for starters. Screenshot_20210727-204048.png

• Like Like x 2
  2. It won't be to hot for a mix for seedlings will it. Don't know anything about it just thought the ingredients look good to me.

3. Coast of Maine make good stuff, though I've never used this particular mix before. I always consider normal growing mix to be too hot for seedlings but I grow autos which are more temperamental than photos. You could always thin some out with peat and use that as a starter, too!

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. I've never used that exact Coast of Maine blend. They do make high quality products. I have used their quoddy blend when building a organic mix for my vegetable garden. Your seedlings should be fine with that mix.This is what the girlfriend uses for her hanging flowerpots,and it works very well. I believe this blend is about 10$ cheaper per bag. 20210727_215422.jpg

• Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 2
  5. Too hot? Does that mean too many nutrients for small roots to deal with?

• Like Like x 1
  6. To me hot is strong nutrients in the mix that makes up the organic soil. Like old cow manures good to use, but if you used fresh cow manure it would probably burn up your seedling because things in it haven't broken down yet, like I said new to organic but I want to plant my plant and only water it threw the grow with out having to add chemical fertilizers to it.

• Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. That is the very blend i use for clones and seedlings, I live on the east coast so it's readily available here. Coast of Maine makes good stuff. I haven't had an issue with it being too hot for the babies.

• Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 2