Organic Soil Mix

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by DreaminGreen, Jul 25, 2010.

1. I am doing my first Organic grow and have somewhat of an idea of what I am doing but I know there is still alot to learn. This will be my fourth grow ever so I am still learning new stuff everyday. Here is my first crack at it.

1 bag of FFOF
    1/4 bag of FFLW
    10 cups perlite
    5 cups vermiculite
    4 cups worm castings

I also have

-Bone meal
    -Green sand
    -Cottensead meal
    -blood meal (I dont think I will need it.)

Any suggestions on what ratio I should add the others or if I even need them? Any suggestions comments are welcome and I wont get butt hurt over you giving your honest opinion. I am trying to make this as easy as it can be with only using water and teas.

If everything goes well I am planning to make my own mix next time around but I figured this way (though more expensive) was a good start to what I am trying to do.

Thanks GC + rep for answers :hello:

2. 'Myself', I would lose the vermiculite and add more perlite. But, that could just be a holdover from living in SoFla and the rain and vermiculite retaining too much water. YMMV I use about 30%+ perlite.

Also, I've read (here), that cottonseed meal is a no no in containers. LD will fill you in on this. Very acidic also.

Can you score any alfalfa meal? Good stuff with extra benefits. I now use it in place of the blood meal.

You will also need some powdered dolomite lime or powdered oyster shells, both for cal/mag and as a soil buffer for pH.

Some kelp meal in addition to the greensand. Together, they work wonders.

Rock dust or Azomite or similar, but others will chime in on this I'm sure.

Wet

3. Ok I will take the cottonseed meal back. Its kind of a drive for me to get to the store so I just grabbed anything that I thought I might need. Thanks! Any other suggestions on ratio?

4. #4 DreaminGreen, Aug 10, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 10, 2010