Off season in greenhouse

Discussion in 'Greenhouses' started by BrownGuy, Jun 16, 2016.

1. Hey guys just a quick question here, I am landing some property and will be installing some forever flowering light dep greenhouses on it. I plan to only flower in the greenhouses, vegging will be done in different area, so the greenhouses wont need light assistance much but here in southern oregon it gets pretty cold and cloudy for about 4 or 5 months, what are your guys thoughts on flowering under cloudy day for a cycle or two? Will this affect yield if climate in greenhouses were on point? Heated beds maybe if needed? And if I need lights I could just supplement with maybe lights triggered by light meter or photocell? Thanks guys i have lots of experience in greenhouses but not on the off season, winters can get cold here but if im heated it will be ideal inside the greenhouses so it all depends on the ambient light, the greenhouses are in an open field and will soak up whatever the sky gives up everyday. Thanks guys!

• Like Like x 2
  2. I'm now in a similar situation

one very reason guys don't bud in winter under the sun is of the shitty tiny buds

sure veg under the cloudy sun, but boost them buds with some daytime hps action

key is understanding the inner core rootzone temps,

keep that up will give you a happy plant

happy plant = good bud

good luck

• Like Like x 2
  3. grow spinach :)

4. Hey I was planning of doing a 4x4 outdoor greenhouse in ground no pots with a 1000watt DE hps for that reason that sun ain't shit this time around. What you think the outcome would be? Good , bad? Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

5. in ground ...?

cold soil = cold roots = slow growth =avoid ..lol

• Like Like x 1
  6. What about in pots? I will keep temps up in the high 80s to mid 90s it's a glass greenhouse ?

7. Pots is best 2x 3x times than normal

as the extra soil will offer extra insulation

as a bonus if and when it ever gets warm