Nutrient burn or Light Burn????

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by chasec10, Sep 2, 2019.

1. Hello, i am a first time grower and i think i am experiencing nutrient burn or light burn. I am growing autos in 4 gallon pots with soil. Plants are entering their 5th week. nutrients are the flora trio from general hydroponics and i am running a 1200W LED hanging 24" above the canopy. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    IMG_1468.JPG IMG_2901.JPG IMG_6769.JPG IMG_8765.JPG

2. I'm a newbie indoor grower myself, only started growing indoors last December.

You sound like you've got a similar led light to me, mine is also 1200w. The manufacturer's instructions state to keep at least 24" away from the canopy, so if your lights are the same and you're keeping the lights at this distance then it probably isn't light burn. However, if you're growing in nutrient rich soil and you've started adding nutrients at 5 weeks veg then it could possibly be nutrient burn. This opinion is based on a couple of years of outdoor growing, the little experience I have of indoor growing and the recent research I've done after experiencing "the claw" due to being a bit too generous with the nutes during veg cycle, which resulted in Nitrogen toxicity.

As I said I'm a newbie too and no expert, I'm sure some of the seasoned growers on here will be able to give you more accurate advice.

3. How's the PH in and out?
    Are you using a calmag supplement?
    How are your temps?

4. Would it even be a calcium or magnesium deficiency if grown in soil? I thought good organic soil has a sufficient amount of nutes for the first six weeks or so?