Nute Burn on Seedling

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by jrgrows, Apr 24, 2009.

1. First off, I'm a total newbee and don't have the best resources, so please excuse me if I'm totally screwin everything up. :rolleyes:

I was hesitant to start growing and paying for seeds until I knew I was doing thing right, so.. I was out with friends and luckily had some drunk guy pass around some weed :). I noticed a ton of seeds in the bag and found myself alone in the room...lol. So.. noting the first rule of growing ;-), I snagged a couple (yeah.. only 2) and set myself up a little grow room to test, learn and work out my bugs before spending any money on seeds that I may end up just killing. At first I felt bad about snagging the seeds, but the guy hit on my girl and was a total jack ass, so now I don't feel so bad.

At first I wasn't even sure if the things would sprout, but finally they did and I had two little seedlings that seemed to be doing well.

The seedling that I'm writing in about is the slower of the two, actually took 4 days longer to germinate then the other, which is doing great!

My set up is as follows: (I know this isn't optimal, but I think should be ok for a start)
    1. each plant has 2 cfls 42 watt, lumen total of 5400 (I know not great). Lights are about 3 inches from plants. Lights are on 24/7 currently.
    2. Soil is "black gold" - My area doesn't seem to sell foxfarm, and that was the only brand recommended, so I didn't know what to use if I couldn't get any foxfarm. Probably could have order it online, but impatience won me over.
    3. PH is running between 6.6 - 6.8... one of those needle gauges.
    4. No nutes yet, just straight water. Not distilled.. so maybe my water had nutes in it?? We have very good water here and the PH of the water runs at 6ish - again.. that needle gauge can't see exactly the point number.
    5. some basic oscillating fans to provide some air.

Now here's the issue...