Noob needing help with numbers for my first grow

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Sweet_green, Feb 8, 2009.

1. First off, what a great community this is, thank you! I'm a hard working professional (although under paid) just looking to smoke for free and supplement my income, as well as take pride in growing some good clean quality herb. I obviously don't want to run anything too big as to draw attention and/or get me arrested. I'm thinking around 25lbs a year or so.

What I want to know (or get pointed to a good site with a calculator) is how much power I'd need to run to sustain such an op? Unfortunately here (Vancouver area) the power company is now obliged to disclose unusual power usage to the cops (and the cops now fly with infrared). So I want to make sure I design a set up that won't require it's own power plant, although I'm open to alternate power such as wind and solar, as well as maybe a generator(bio diesel to boot) supplement if needed.

I want to grow a dense high yield plant, most likely hydro in a basement. I'm pretty new to growing so I'm not sure how long a grow cycle I'm looking at. I'm used to the 3-4 months for leave it outdoor, so I'm hoping with an indoor setup I can shorten that dramatically.

So I guess if any of the pro's can give me some ballpark numbers and/or suggestions on a setup that will give me my target yield in the least amount of power.

Thanks all!

2. For a few plants the power usage won't attract attention.

3. I'm no expert, but 25lbs per year does not sound like a few plants...

4. Any idea how many plants that would require if I were to string it over maybe 2 or 3 grow cycles or however many grow cycles I can fit in 12 months?

I've been doing some reading about LST so maybe that could give me my large yield per plant hence keeping my lights to a minimum.

Also how many plants can be grown per light for any given method, and then how many kwh's would the lights use?