Noob Grower in need of advice for closet grow.

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by dnicebx5, Dec 27, 2011.

1. Hi Noob Grower here, I have a closet space of 3x2x8 i need advice in setting up a closet grow. I know since im a noob i should go soil but im looking to get the most out of the space i have. So in your opinion which will good soil? Or hydro? I have pics of the closet im working with...... Thanks and happy holidays

ForumRunner_20111227_045004.png

ForumRunner_20111227_045040.png

ForumRunner_20111227_045104.png

2. Soil is easier generally and you have a small area so not that many plants can fit in there so Id go with soil.

3. Thanks for the reply, how many plants you think will fit with no problem?

4. I'd suggest going with a soil-less mix; something like pro-mix, sunshine mix #4 or coco coir. All three can be amended with perlite to allow extra drainage. The advantage to soilless is that you always know what your plants are getting as opposed to "real" soil that comes to you with loaded with time release nutrients and it's more difficult for beginners to gauge what you need to add in.

I like coco because you can get away with smaller pots and still achieve good sized plants and outstanding yields. It drains really well, my ph doesn't swing wildly and it's reusable. CNS17 is a nutrient designed specifically for coco and you can use the "bloom" formula from start to finish.

Prom-Mix and SS#4 are used by many people as well.... it also needs a complete fertilizer which there are tons of on the market. Try and stick with keeping it simple as possible. Maxibloom is getting good results as a stand alone nute. You could also go with Jack's 20-10-20 but you'll need to add a Tablespoon of dolomite lime per gallon to the mix.

That space would be great for a 250 watt Ceramic metal halide bulb, and fit 2-4 reasonable sized plants growing in 2-3 G smart pots if using coco.