Noob - DIY Growbox Critique

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by CaptainKimura, Aug 28, 2013.

1. #1 CaptainKimura, Aug 28, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 28, 2013
    Hi GrassCity,

I'm always a bit nervous posting as a noob, but after trolling the boards for the last few months, I figured it was time. Believe it or not, I started my build as a substitute for the bad lighting my garden was receiving on my patio. Before I knew it, I had a full-blown negative pressure setup, built from the ground-up through trial and error.

Anyway, I would greatly appreciate any critique from the experienced and novice horticulturalists on the boards regarding my particular setup. I feel that I have done sufficient research, even some testing with various flowering and fruit-bearing plants, to merit a step up to the real thing. So flame if you must; I am a noob after all, but I hope some of those comments are at the very least followed up with some useful suggestions.

I have included a picture of my cabinet as reference with the specifics listed below. Thanks everyone!

-Dimensions: 4'x2'x4'

-Lighting: (1) 600w HPS/MH, housed in (1) CoolTube with reflectors; 6” diameter openings

-Ventilation:
    (1) 450cfm centrifugal fan connected to (1) fan speed controller, sucking air from outside (RIGHT SIDE) the box and through the light fixture to keep the temps down.
    (1) 250cfm inline fan (sold as a standalone inline, but it is definitely a booster) connected to (1) carbon filter dumping the exhaust out the top. All seams are sealed, so negative pressure is achieved through a passive intake vent measuring 3”x8” located on the bottom right.
    *To clarify, I have the heavier fan sucking air through the light for temp control, and the smaller of the two facilitating the air exchange through the passive intake and exhausting out the top through the scrubber.

-Medium:
    ​(1) 1.5 cubic foot bag of FFOF
    ​(1 each) Dr. Earth nutes for flowering and vegetation