Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Newbie here... lots of questions

Discussion in 'Medical Marijuana Usage and Applications' started by Eggie, Jul 1, 2010.

1. My dad will be getting his medical marijuana card soon to help him manage pain and loss of appetite associated with esophageal cancer. I don't think he's ever smoked pot before, with the exception of maybe taking a few random hits from a joint when he was a teenager, so I'm not sure what the best method(s) would be for him. Would you guys suggest he use a bong/waterpipe or smoke joints? The cancer has spread a little bit to his lungs so I'm not sure if that would make it more difficult for him to smoke the usual way. He doesn't have any breathing problems though.

What strains are best for stimulating appetite and giving decent pain relief without completely knocking him out?

I've found a number of decent dispensaries in this area (Riverside County, southern california) but I'm curious... do they only sell weed or do they sell paraphernalia as well? I'm a complete newbie when it comes to this stuff... (apart from a very nice pot brownie I had in Amsterdam a couple of months ago :D ) so I'm just trying to learn as much as possible so I can help my dad out.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Vaporizer, hands down.