Newbie here, in need of some tips.

Discussion in 'Absolute Beginners' started by cheeba, May 11, 2003.

1. Ok, so ive decided to do some indoor. Ive never done this before, so i will accept ALL the tips you guys can give me!
    I will post some more when i get some supplies. First thing i need are some seeds!

2. I'm new here so I don't know what's readily available on this site so I'll start at the beginning with the seed issue.

I recommend starting with good bag seed instead of buying expensive seeds for your first time. Unless you live where getting them is no big deal and you have lots of money, buying seeds can be a security risk and expensive. You're going to need your money for grow equipment and supplies at first.

Select seeds from potent bud that are well formed, dark in color and preferable with some mottling or varying coloring (kind of like tiger stripes I guess).

You need to think about what lights you are going to use and get some advice on that.

You also need to work out your grow space, thinking about ventilation and light leaks. You want no light leaks for the best flowering.

I can't describe everything in one thread so we'll have to get some help from others here hopefully and I'll jump in and help where I can too.

Next step:

Germination

Any one else want to chime in?

Peace

3. Awesome, yea i think a mod is gonna send me some good seeds, i used to live near him so i dont think it would be a problem. Next is Soil. Im not worried so much about the brand as i am what type of soil and fert i need, any ideas? Also, is aluminum foil the best reflectant?

4. This is the old BOGs mix recipe I used this year:

5 gal. Sam's Choice or Shultz continuous feeding potting soil.
    2 gal Perlite
    2/3 cup Bone Meal
    2/3 cup Blood Meal
    2 Tsp Dolomite Lime

Alfalfa meal and kelp meal have been strongly suggested to add more potassium, MJ likes extra potassium apparently but I haven't tried it yet.