Newbie Growing

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by simpletoker90, Apr 3, 2010.

1. So yeah, im pretty new to the whole growing thing. Ive just been growing for the pst 6 days and they have already begun sprouting quite well, if I could say so, from dry seed.

Heres my specs:
    -Rectangular box about 1 foot in width and 2 or 3 foot in length
    -White computer paper inside the box for reflective purposes
    -2 34w light bulbs (house hold lamps) about 4-5 inches away from top of plant
    -Easy ventilation because its in my attic which gets quite hot and humid in the summer
    -I have 4 successful sprouts in old mt dew bottles rinsed out and cleaned that are about 1 foot high and the plants were transplanted in about 1 inch of extra dirt then watered
    -I have about 3 others that werent to the point of a complete sprout at day 4 but today they have
    I began dry seed in a 2 dozen egg container about 2 cm into the dirt
    -I used dirt from my backyard but I went through the dirt with a sifter to get it granulated
    -I try to water every 4-5 hours with enough water to last it that long, maybe a little bit longer just in case I forget and what-not
    -I usually keep my dark period in effect for about 2 hours during the day that way I can have lamps run all night
    -This is not any specific kind of bud, all I care about is the successful grow. My dealer gave me some good big buds that had a couple seeds in it so I decided I should start growing because he is relatively unreliable

Thats about it. All i wanted to know is: Do you think im doing a good job? Are my sprouts still okay to transplant at day 5 when the others were sprouted day 4? What kind of nutrient solution should I buy? Is there anything I am doing wrong? Is there anything you think I should be doing differently? Mind you, this is a pretty low budget and easy put-together setup.