Newb grower with closet grow tent question

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Tiredofdealers, May 15, 2011.

1. #1 Tiredofdealers, May 15, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: May 15, 2011
    I am thinking of buying a pre-fabricated 20" x 36" x 64" HTC closet tent system with 4-6400k grow T5 HO lamps and a 90 watt LED UFO grow lamp. Is anyone familiar with this set up and would you recommend it? I am thinking of getting some feminized seeds and getting started for under $850. Which seeds would be good for this indoor set up taking into consideration I live in a condo so I would like to keep smell to a minimum. I've never done this before so I really don't feel comfortable buying/setting up lamps, ballasts, etc. Any help would be appreciated.

2. You will be disappointed by the yield with that UFO. Im using a very expensive LED panel and there is no competition with the HPS. You really should go with an HPS. As for you seed choice, is plant size an issue? would you rather smoke an indica or a sativa?

3. HPS light is easy theres nothing to it. Screw in bulb, connect cord to ballast. Plug ballast to power strip..what is there to be uncomfortable about? They sell them as a kit.

You hang the HPS light from the top of your grow tent...it will have bars for it. Usually they come with Yo Yo adapters so you can lower raise it..or you can use chains.

I live in a one bedroom apartment and my grow tent is in the bathroom..have a big bathroom.

LEDs are a mixed bag do a search on here and read the opinions. Some good some terrible. HPS Lamps are tried, true, and cheap.

As far as you never doing it...this year is my first year ever growing mj. Grew lots of other things but first for MJ so it was all new to me. If you read enough youll have 80% of what you need to know down. Other 20% will come when you do it.

Heres some links. I use the one that is on amazon.