New to philosophy, book suggestions?

Discussion in 'The Bookshelf' started by xsmallheartx, May 26, 2010.

1. #1 xsmallheartx, May 26, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2010
    Hi,

I am quite new to philosophy, and very interested in it. I was wondering what books / people I should study first to get a somewhat general knowledge.

Terence Mckenna mentions many such as Heraclitus and too many more.

2. I like Epicurus and Bruce Lee.

Not sure of any books except for The Tao of Jeet Kun Do... which has a lot of philosophical insight from Bruce Lee.

3. I will post a few things, since you really didn't give a genre of what type of philosophy :D

Well, first since you are new, understanding what Philosophy is would truly help lol

Philosophy - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Basic information, it will give you a grasp of the components of thought for philosophy.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

All have really shaped my mind, and I recommend them. I would read the Plato book first, and read some stuff on his symposium, because many of Aristotle's thoughts expand further from Plato.

Just a starting point, since you are new to philosophy.

4. "What does it all mean"- Nagel
    This book does a great job of introducing philosophy and its various subjects in only a few pages. In paperback this book is only around $10.

Also try iTunes U and check out introductory philosophy courses, many are free and from top universities.

Good Luck!

5. the old stuff is cool, but you should read up on some contemporary stuff too.

look up these philosophers: Wittgenstein, Russel, Frege, Husserel, Rorty, Heideggar, Beauvoir, Searle. The list goes on, just do some research at the library.

6. well not that Jung didn't have a great insight about philosophy, just know he was a psychologist and there is a difference in psychology and philosophy. philosophy created psychology and even the notion of science.