New to organics, first grow - AK Auto & Great White Auto

Discussion in 'Organic Grow Journals' started by StickyGreenThumb, May 3, 2019.

1. #1 StickyGreenThumb, May 3, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2019
    Hey folks, thought I’d start up my own thread to track some of my progress and learning... mostly for my own memory and documenting, lol, but if it can help out even one other person, then mission accomplished! Have been learning a great deal recently from the stickies and some of the other great contributors here on GCO, so thank you to everyone who has helped me with some of the questions I’ve had. Let’s see if I can pay that forward.

Have always had an interest in growing, my background is in farming. Pretty excited about being about to grow organically, not only from a sustainability standpoint, but from an ease of simply applying water.

The master plan
    I’m aiming to get my first crop underway in about a month. Starting off with 2 autos, Great White Shark and AK, in organic no-tills. Plan to do some LST to get some nice spread and try to follow in Organic Sinse’s footsteps (if I’m lucky!). Following that harvest, I have some Critical Mass CBD that I am thinking of setting up in a scrog. From there, back to autos likely.

The set-up
    I built my own grow space in my unfinished basement. 6’ x 4’ footprint, 80” high, lined with panda poly and seams taped with vapour barrier tape. I installed two containment barrier zippers to add sealed access to the inside.

I have two Viparspectra 450w (200w draw at the wall, each)... the ones with the bloom/veg switches. I also received a 250w MH ballast from my in-laws when they shut down their little greenhouse. It came with a 4200k MH bulb, and I managed to source a 220w HPS conversion bulb (2000k) to run in the MH ballast for flowering. Growing in 2 -10gal no tills, hard plastic pots with smart pot lining - 1-2” of lava rock under the smart pot.