New to organic - Need help with easy soil mix

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by foolmelt, Jun 5, 2015.

1. #1 foolmelt, Jun 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2015
    I just wanted to make sure I'm not missing anything in my recipe. I couldn't find EWC in my area but I'm currently trying to lure some worms out of the ground(its very dry lately so I dug down a foot and filled the hole with mud/compost and will check tomorrow) and I couldn't find kelp meal but here's what I have so far.

2cu ft PRO-MIX BX MYCORRHIZAE
    1cu ft sheep manure
    5l perlite
    5l crushed rock dust
    2 cups dolomite lime
    2 cups bone meal
    2 cups blood meal
    1.5 cups organic tomato tone
    1 cup liquid organic kelp

Anything key I'm missing? I'm letting this cook for a few weeks while my seeds germinate so I have a little time before anything goes into the pots.

2. I'm also brand new to organics but comparing your inventory to the beginner's soil thread it looks like you're missing compost and/or EWC. I see you're trying to get some worms from the ground but there's no way they'll be able to produce that many castings that fast. I'm unfamiliar with promix but if you have 2cu ft that would be something like 15 gallons total? So you'll need at least 5 gallons of perlite unless promix already contains it.

You have perlite and crushed rock dust listed at equal parts so i think it might be a typo. If your soil base is just the 2 cu ft of promix then you'll need 8 cups of rock dust (going by memory so verify in that thread). Also, you mention crushed rock dust. Make sure the rock dust is literally dust, it needs to be very very fine like flour for reasons I kind of understand but definitely can't explain. I read like 300 pages of that thread lol.