New to hydro

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by tattoo400, Feb 8, 2015.

1. Hello all, I just received my eBay "6 site" hydro grow box. It is 48" tall and only 16"x13" (L & W) so I am not real sure how it will grow 6 plants to maturity so I only planted one Master Kush and one Cheese seed. The have not sprouted rom the rockwool yet but any day now I can tell. So from here I assume I have to take the resivior out so I can fill it with 2 gallons of nutrient laden water (half strength due to it being so early in the plants life). My question is.......once the plants are larger and I need to refill the reservoir with fresh water and nutes......where do I put the plants AND their root systems while I am cleaning the tub? Also, my system seems to rely on the net pots hanging down juuuuust enough into the reservoir to water the plants.....how am I to make sure this level never drops? the tub is covered so I cannot see the level from that angle.....again I am new to this so any help is greatly appreciated! thanks

2. It depends on how your hydro grow box is set up. You will have to refill the reservoir occasionally. The set should include instructions, every design is different...

3. Yes it did come with instructions but it says nothing about topping off or anything further than initial set up. I'm just worried about lifting the lid off the tub to change the solution when there is no where to put the lid with the pots and all the roots (once they have grown more). Also, I ditched the super cheap all plastic 4" cooling fan for a plug in ball bearing 4" fan that is keeping the box at 80 degrees but I hazard to guess what would have taken place if I didn't make this upgrade.....like I said......eBay grow box. I am waiting for my tent so I can go back to using soil, at least I can run the box 24/7 with no issues.