New to growing basic questions

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by Farmer619, Mar 19, 2012.

1. Hello my name is Paul and I'm new to growing marijuana, I recently built a small grow room at my house and put together a hydro set up, with the help of a friend.

I have 3 plants growing in a hydro set-up( not sure the type) where they sit in rocks and the water is pumped from the reservoir where after flowing through the rocks it is drained back into the reservoir. The plants do not stay submerged in water.

I will attach a few picture for you guys to refer to and also tell me what you think about it :)

One of my questions is: How much should I be watering them?
    -I found out the hardway that growing in hydro requires them to be watered more then I thought. I was watering them only 3 times a day for 2 minutes.. Unfortunately the plants started dying. One survived(the biggest of my 3) And I got 2 new clones and started letting the pump go 24/7. It seems to be working so far, they have grown a lot.

Another question is I've noticed on my larger plant that the roots have traveled through the whole 3 gallon container it is in and are laying in the bottom of the bucket where the water flows. Is this okay? Should I replant them?

3rd question is I've noticed some build up near the base stem of atleast one of my plants. Attached is a picture that shows a close up of it. I was wondering if anyone can tell me what it is and if I should be worried about it and what not.

4th question Right now I know my plants are in the vegetative growth, in order to start the flowering stage is it as simple as cutting the hours of light the plants receive to a lesser amount? Right now they get 20/4, I've read to change to 12/12 and it's as simple as that.

5th and final question I know i've heard of people putting orange peelings and all that strange stuff with the plants, but does it really work? what all effect would it have?