NEW to gc and growing. pics inside.

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by faceburner, Jun 28, 2010.

1. Hey stoners.
    Im relatively new to the world of growing and just wanted some advice from the masters. First of all i've had a plant going for about two weeks now. The strain is Pineapple chunk and I started it from a seed that I ordered from barney's. Im growing in soil and trying to do the whole organic thing. I've sectioned off a space in my closet and set up a light. But, im using one of those eco friendly coiled bulbs and I was wondering if this bulb is going to be enough to last through the entire growing process or should I buy something like a metal halide bulb to beef up the light output. Because right now its putting about only 100 watts.

Also my other concern is that my plants wont get enough nutrients from trying to grow organic. I recently added a bit of banana peel, egg shell, and coffee grounds. And the plant seems to be taking to it well. I've also switched from watering my plants with distilled water to collecting rain water and using that.

as you can probably tell im on a budget.

any tips or hints?

Attached Files:

2. Your plant is behind where it should be at two weeks in. I'd say it's still too young to try and add nutrients to. Organics depends not on direct chemical nutrients but by bacteria and biologicals in the soil breaking down organic material in to nutrients.

You did not add perlite to your potting soil and that can cause issues with aeration, ultimately increasing your chances with root rot. When you transplant, make sure you mix in at least 30% perlite.

Good luck.

3. is there anything i can do now to get it on track?

4. also, I was thinking about switching to a 100 wat metal halide bulb. Would I need to buy a ballast for just a 100 watter?

5. how far away is your light from the plant? and is it 100 watt equivalent or 100wats used?