New to dabbing - I think I'm messing up?

Discussion in 'Concentrate Tools' started by streetdk, Dec 30, 2016.

1. Hey everyone, just got into dabbing recently, so I bought myself a new rig today. The nail has a dome on it. Guy who sold me it at the smoke shop said the nail was quartz.

So, I take my torch, heat the nail for about 20-35 seconds (or until it's red enough), put the dome back on, wait about 5-10 seconds, then take the dab.

I'm not getting a lot of smoke though... It seems like I'm barely getting any smoke compared to what I should be getting. If I were to take the same amount out of my friends rig which is really nothing special (some really small $20 one with a ceramic nail), I would get way more smoke. This happens every time, even if I increase the amount I'm using. I've tried heating it for less, longer, or taking it right after and not waiting, etc. but I can't seem to figure out why. I've probably taken over 25 dabs by now, I'm a noob. Using shatter by the way.

I plan on buying a domeless quartz nail tomorrow, but I'm afraid I'll run into the same issue. What am I doing wrong guys? Help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Pictures of my rig if it's of any help:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Get a quartz banger and a carb cap instead...way nicer than the nails

3. So you think the nail is the reason why I'm getting poor smoke?

4. I got a free nail that looks like that, used it once and found it was too much of a hassle compared to my banger.
    Same with a ceramic domeless

Even if it's not that nail's fault, you should get a quartz banger, MUCH MUCH MUCH more user friendly

5. Hmm, so I'll definitely have to grab a quartz banger and give it a shot then.

Also, nooby off topic question if you don't mind. What would be the best form of concentrate I could get aside from shatter? In terms of strength, purity, etc. What would you recommend?

6. DIY from fresh plants, live resin is the best (full of those precious terpenes!)