New Iolite

Discussion in 'Vaporizers' started by sparticus63, Jan 19, 2010.

1. #1 sparticus63, Jan 19, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2010
    Hey GC,

I bought my Iolite portable vaporizer a few days ago, and have spent some quality time with it. The day I got it I used it with some friends for about 12 hours straight. :smoking:

Few things I've noted for those of you considering the Iolite:
    -You have to be a little patient with it. It can take up to 5 minutes to come on, and then another minute or so to heat up.
    -Filling it can be interesting. Butane gets sprayed a bit, but this might just be because I'm not good at it yet.
    -The mouthpiece gets hot, but not any hotter than hitting a joint or blunt would be.
    -There is a bit of cooldown time between sessions as the unit expels excess heat and fuel.

On to the good:
    -It rips your face off. After about 10 minutes I was pleasantly toasted.
    -There are very very faint vapor clouds, so it is very discreet.
    -The sound is minimal, any background noise at all would drown it out. It is quieter than a running laptop.
    -The taste is nice when packed with good bud.
    -It's very efficient - one half bowl pack will go for 15 to 20 minutes and get you very stoned. I was sharing with anywhere between 2-7 people and repacking was few and far between.
    -I was using it in a room that is constantly smoked in, so I can't comment as to how faint the smell was because the entire room already smelled like pot. There was no distinct odor coming out of the unit, nor the clouds.

The high is a bit different than smoking, but is very nice. You can certainly achieve couch-lock status in a few sessions. It really does a nice job of conserving bud - I got very high off two sessions that were maybe .2-.3 grams each.

A few cautions: