New guy needs advice

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Gator01, Jul 25, 2006.

1. Hello everyone. I'm new to growing and I have several questions. For some background on myself. I am a engineer and I live in <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:State w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">Florida</st1:place></st1:State>. I am an avid reef aquarium keepr and I have been very successful at that. My roommate has grown numerous time over the past few years and we recently grew several sucefful crops until being shut down. We wer just getting our system down and next thing we knew we were being circled by a ghetto bird so we had to break down. Which leads me to my first question.
    <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p> </o:p>
    • What can they see? Our setup consisted of one 1,000w HPS light. The room was located in the center of the house in a walk in closet. The room never got above 82def F. The closet was surrounded by a master bath to the south, the master bed room to the west and a hall and bedroom to the north the east was another town house unit. We thought we were ok but I have no idea about the penetration of heat sensing equipment. We broke the closet down and relocated all the incriminating evidence including bongs and the like. This was like 3 months ago and nothing “bad” has happened. We saved what we could and harvested about a pound from 8 plants that were close to or were ready.
    • Im starting up a new grow in the same place. This time I invested in a 4 foot T-5 with 8 bulbs. This is to reduce the light and heat emissions and cut power cost. My question is will a T-5 work for 6 to 8 plant( IM cutting production as I don't think I can handle 32 plants, lol props to the roomie with the green thumb)