New Grower question

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by SmokyMcBluntz91, Nov 18, 2011.

1. Hi, I'm new to growing and GC, and this is my first post, so go easy on me!

I have 2 bag seeds growing in party cups and under a lamp that has aluminum foil all on the inside of the shade. Its an incandescent light bulb though, not a fluoro or hid... will this work to grow my seedlings till I get my true growbox finished and started?

thank you!

2. that light is no good in my opinion. the aluminum foil is no good either. glossy white paint is better. you got pics? you need to get that grow area ready. mj grows fast under the right conditions. usually the room needs to be ready before the seeds are. get busy blade and welcome to grasscity!

3. Thanks man, I know... the light sucks hard haha
    But I should be going to get my fluoros today and getting my babies into their new home for good. Ill keep posting as things progress. Thanks for the reply, man!

4. yup that guy is right, the bulb you have provides little to none of the specturms plants need to grow. Not saying it will not grow, it will just be stretched to shit and produce very little buds and hardely any of them.

welcome to GC, lots of help to be had here! good luck fellow grower!!!!!

5. I understand that it won't work forever haha I was just wondering for like a week or 2?
    The setup I'm going to have is gonna have 8 23(100w equal) 6500k fluoros bumpin for 18 hours a day. Will that be enough for say... 2-3 plants? Its like, 1600 lumen/bulb

6. that should do it. have to keep the lights close 1-2inches. 8x1600 is 12800 lumens i think it should work.. will need lower temp bulbs for flower thow 2700k. could do a mix 6500k and 2700k. i veg my 1 plant under 4 14w t5 6500k and it grew about .5 inch a day. now in flower its under 2 14w 6500k 2 14w 2700k and 3 cfls 100w 2700k

7. Get the flouros asap. I doubt they will live two weeks under a single incandescent.