New Grow Room

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by rschalk117, Dec 29, 2014.

1. Hello everyone,
    I am in the process of building a high efficiency grow room and i would like some of the communities input to help me out, as it is my first time, but i want to do everything as efficiently as possible.
    I have built an 8' x 10' shed with a center dividing wall, creating 2 8'x5' rooms for a total of 40 sq feet per room. I am planning on offsetting the cycles to have more consistent harvesting. I plan to always buy the clones and forget about creating my own clones as i do not have room for another area to veg them. I am going to run a drip irrigation system and have a active carbon filter, along with fans in the rooms. The biggest thing i am trying to decide on is if i should use CFL lighting or HPS, or possibly even both. Can i efficiently veg and flower with just HPS lighting, or will i need 2 different kinds of lights to switch between the veg and flowering stage. Should i use LST growing only for CFL, or HPS lights as well. Any input, recommendations, information and help is greatly appreciated. 
    Thank you

2. You'll get different opinions, some people will say go with LED. I'd say go with 600w hps, as that's the sweet spot for lumens per watt.

I'm not a fan of flowering with CFL but they have their place in my growroom. I use them for cloning and temporary veg (2 weeks or so). You'd be surprised how much vegetative growth you can get with a 4-pack of 26w veg bulbs.

But, I do veg with Hortilux full-spectrum HPS bulbs, they're not cheap but they work great. No stretching and extremely vigorous growth rates. Last grow I got quarter pound autos with a 20/4 light cycle from start to finish with one of their 1kw HPS bulbs.