New Gorwer Questions (Lighting/Genetics)

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by BuzzLiteBeer, Aug 30, 2006.

1. I've been into gardening and also into weed, but never had the nerve to go and combine the two. I've been growing herbs and some small veggies in my backyard as well as a few small trees indoors, but these are quite different from a cannabis plant as I would imagine.

Anyways, I'm not expecting to outfit a grow room and try for dank nugs, I'd be more than happy if I could get a plant going and flowering with mids-quality buds or even shwag...this is more of a moneysaving/hobby endeavor.

I read a few guide and they mentioned that Flouro lights are acceptable, but not as effective. By flouro, I'm guessing that regular compact flouro lamps from home depot that fit in desk lamps will suffice....if so, what wattage/design should I get.

Aside from lighting, I am a complete noob to genetics. Pepople have mentioned "parent" plants as well as "feminizing". I understand that thew female plants are the one you want to smoke, but how do I get a female? Is it random? If so, what are the odds?