Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Never made an edible: this math doesn't seem right to me

Discussion in 'Weed Edibles' started by wendellab, Apr 25, 2016.

1. So I'm relatively new to herb. I want to make some edibles with the 1/8 I bought (I don't like smoking).

It's Durban's poison, which is according to Leafly is about 20%THC.

Since 1/8 is 3.5 grams, the entire thing has 700 mg of THC - 20% of 3.5 grams.

I read that 5mg is one serving size of THC. So that means 1/8 has 140 servings, since there are 700 mg of THC in the whole thing.

This sounds crazy to me. If I make some cannabutter I'll only be able to have the tiniest bits of butter, since 1/8 translates to one stick, which has 140 servings.

Where is this calculation wrong?

• Like Like x 1
  2. I'm in the process of making some edibles/tincture as well.
    The THC advertised content is largely marketing spin, I'll never trust it totally. First of all we are talking about a plant, which is not homogeneous, that means the THC content is not distributed evenly on the flowers. Realistically, I would only expect 60-70% of the advertised level.

Before making any edibles, it's best to decarb ( heating the Herb to certain temperature to convert THCa to THC), then grind it before the cannabutter process. You might find the below article useful:
    Decarboxylating Cannabis to Activate THC

• Like Like x 1
  3. I know to decarboxylate it.

But the issue I have here is that even then, at 60% of the estimated (so 12%) it comes out to 84 servings for a single stick of butter.

4. [​IMG]