Neem Seed Meal Confidence

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by KouchLoch, Jun 5, 2014.

1. I've been using neem oil as a foliar for the past three years of growing and I quickly realized the massive benefits of that type of application. This is my first year using neem seed meal in my soil mix and I'm a little leery of it's effectiveness. I know a lot if you guys use it in the amendment mix so I'm looking for a vote of confidence here. I've had caterpillar issues outdoor EVERY year. Last year I spent lots of time picking them off and such... Will the meal in the soil keep this to a minimum this year? Help me out here...

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

2. I don't think so as the budworm is layed by a moth on the plant. I have them every year as well and lost a couple of plants to them in the past.

• Like Like x 1
  3. http://www.saferbrand.com/store/garden-care/5162

I always put neem meal in my plants but it never stops certain bugs.

For organic treatment of worms/moths of all kinds I use this stuff.

Its a powder that puffs out. Make sure its dark and puff it on your plants and around them and no more caterpillars :smoke:

4. I'm a big user of Neem Oil, and get great results every time, it takes care of many issues from molds ...bud rots to aphids and all mites, one very under noted aspect of Neem (oil or meal) is that it is systemic, can be sucked up by the plant, hence totally fuckes the day of any bug that may wanna suck the canna juice out of the plant, yet not enough to be noticed later at harvest by the smoker, I prefer the oil at 5ml (1x teaspoon) per gallon of water at each watering, and often foilar spray 1-2 times per week 

to m y blog: http://forum.grasscity.com/blog/1093/entry-9709-neem-oil/

5. #5 wetdog, Jun 5, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2014
    Get some BT for the worms. If you can find the concentrate, it's much cheaper than the Safers or Dipel or whatever that is mostly just water.