Need Some Advice on a Family Thing

Discussion in 'General' started by ShadowRunner, Oct 25, 2011.

1. Hey GC. I'm not sure exactly where to post this, so if it's in the wrong section, I apologize in advance and feel free to move it wherever it should belong.

The question is in bold at the end if you don't feel like reading so much. I really thought a history would help a lot though.

Anyways, I've been smoking for about 5 years now. I smoke about every other day. My grandmother and I were having a discussion about weed. She's not very pro-pot but not very against it either. She's kind of neutral on the issues in the US against it. We all know she grew up in the time that weed was "Reefer Madness" and evil. She never really bought into all of it though.

So during our discussion she asks if I do it. I responded honestly and said yes. I've lived with her pretty much all of my childhood and still do hang out there on occasion with friends, so she deserves to know. My grandmother didn't take it in a bad or good way. She just started asking a bunch of questions and accusing me of somethings lol. You know "Is that why you eat so much" "Did you sell your pills or something for weed?" (I don't even though she doesn't quite believe me)

The problem is I want her to be accepting of my smoking. She's KNOWN I've done it, but we never really got around to talking about it. She's literally the coolest grandmother, and she acted like my mother for all my life, so I don't want to yell at her or make her angry and argue. She even let me smoke (cigarettes) at a very young age when I was hooked. I mean, she didn't want me running the streets just for smokes and getting into trouble for god knows what.

Note: She even buys me rolling papers and pipes sometimes for birthdays and such, so I think she's known for awhile and wanted to talk but couldn't. She even admitted that if marijuana was legal, she would go buy some.