Need ideas for a hydroponic apartment grow

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by jbutler23, Nov 25, 2012.

1. I'm looking for any threads pertaining to this topic. I am new to the idea of hydroponics and looking to build a system on a very small scale. Like 1 or 2 plants. I've seen some fish tanks that may be a good starting point.

2. black 5 gallon buckets are your friend.
    cover it in reflective mylar to reduce heat issues.
    12 inch air stone, 4 watt air pump
    get Ph meter, TDS meter, and good "nutes" (I use advanced nutrients SensiA B)
    400 watt HPS at least
    exhaust fan with carbon filter (heta is your enemy)

Also look up RDWC

3. Not mine but could use a single tray version of this or go dwc

Attached Files:

4. Hydro in an apartment? You're asking for problems. Try a couple hempy buckets, it's passive hydro and has awesome results, no muss, no fuss, no FLOOD!!!

5. #6 greenbowlpacker, Nov 28, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 28, 2012
    ^^ As long as your careful there should be no problems I did closet grows with dwc with no problems just make sure you buy good buckets that wont crack or leak. Hempy buckets are awesome one of my favorites and probably the safest for accidental spills or leaks. Also good for beginners cuz you cant overwater. I have a thread using hempy buckets with time release ferts so all you have to do is water and the nutes release on there own and wont over or under fertilize. Its only $20 for a bottle that can probably last you 40+ plants.

6. I was also hesitant at first but I figure if I have my bucket in a big plastic tray that can hold most of the water, in case of a flood. I do plan on going DWC because it seems to be a fairly simple setup. The only confusion I have with Hydroponics is when to add nutes.
    Is there only one certain solution to use in the different stages? e.g. Seedling, Veg, and Flower.