Need help with soil ratios

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by chonnelly, May 7, 2013.

1. Okay so i'm just underway with my grow, my seeds are germing and one has already a tiny sprout.

I go into my room last night and find that my bucket of organic soil that was cooking had begun to mold all over it. I didn't add any water after i mix it so i need some help there. Also i have some house plants growing in my room until the real seeds are ready and 4/5 started to mold as well. I have some ideas why this might be happening but i'm no expert with this and could really use some feedback. Oh so to top it off, my seeds will be ready to plant in a few days and now i have no soil ready:(

So most of that mix was peat moss, i'm thinking that because there was so much of it that it held in all the moisture not allowing it to runoff. I also think maybe i didnt added enough perlite. I have 35% humidity and the temp stays right around 80* in there.
    I also checked my soil's Ph and it came out to 7.0

For my recipe this is what i use but it's all unaccurate guessimates:
    -Miracle Gro Spaghnum peat moss
    - Scott's humus/manure
    (those two are the biggest ingrediants)
    -Perlite
    -Miracle Gro organic bone meal
    -Miracle Gro organic blood meal
    -Espoma organic soil acidifier
    -Espoma organic garden lime
    -Espoma plant tone (but i just bought this last night so it wasn't in the moldy mix)

I'm pretty sure i didn't overwater either.
    So any help with why my batch went moldy, and any help with my ratios would be great.

2. Can we see a picture of said mold? Im also curious as to why you have an acidifier and lime in the same mix. Im not a big fan of the whole miracle gro/scotts.. But the espoma is good stuff.

sorry I cant help more right now its hard to say with out a picture.

3. #3 chonnelly, May 8, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2013