Need help with mini fridge grow box

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by alexburnsred, Jun 7, 2009.

1. Hey everyone,

This is my first post, so hopefully I do alright. Anyway, I'm looking to start growing once I move into my apartment this fall (sometime around mid-August) and wanted to build a somewhat stealthy grow box. It doesn't have to be 100% stealthy because it will be in my closet or whatever.

Anyway, I can get a mini-fridge fairly cheap and want to make a grow box out of it. This seems like a very good option for me, although there will be a few difficultlies. For some people that have experience w/ mini-fridge grow boxes, how did you:

1) Put holes in the mini-fridge for ventilation w/ a carbon filter
    2) Install and determine light placement on the inside of the mini-fridge

Please keep in mind that I am a college student and don't have alot of money, I just want to grow mostly for personal use and really only plan on growing 2 plants (maybe three) at a time.

The mini-fridge I plan on getting looks like this:
    http://images.craigslist.org/3o43p93l9ZZZZZZZZZ95vcf5430b75de51385.jpg
    http://images.craigslist.org/3n63mb3o2ZZZZZZZZZ95v8bc913787b89188b.jpg

Thanks,
    Alex

2. Scroll down a few threads......Dopehead_680 has a mini-fridge growbox with pictures and talks about some of the issues he ran into.

3. If you do go with that fridge you'll need some lowryder plants, as it doesn't seem to be very big. Sorry I've never tried using a fridge before so I can't really answer those questions.

Just wanted to say welcome to the city bro, and good luck with fridge idea. :smoking:

4. TexarkanaTim - Thanks for the heads up! That post is pretty informative and answers a lot of the questions I was having

The Green Man - Thanks for the warm welcome man, I'll definitely keep this updated if I get it to work

5. Word, Im always interested in peoples results with these things.