Need help w/ light size/watts =)

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Cityboyz239, Jun 9, 2011.

1. Im currently building a "approx size" box 3x3x6. I'm currently doing my first grow..lemon skunk..had to move them outside now cause my 400 watt ballast died and I'm on a budget now! I wanna grow with strictly cfl's in this box. I don't know anything about lights except the wattage..someone told me to use a single 200 watt 6400k cfl w/ a reflector? and a 250 watt 2700k cfl and 3 45 watt for flowering? Since I'm a newbie I'm gettn northern lights..I'd appreciate any help/input I could get! I'm sure this sounds stupid but what are those numbers "2700k" mean? Other than lighting I pretty much am good from there =)

2. 2700 kelvin is a way to measure the color /spectrum . the lower the color the more blue uv type light. just like w/ hps and metal halide . hps will have a higher kelvin rating and halide has a lower. lowerK for veg, higherK for flower.

3. #3 Cityboyz239, Jun 9, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2016
    Sweet! I appreciate the info! I was using a 400 watt MH w/ reflector for my skunks..for some reason my ballast died!? R.I.P =( Soo Im takin a risk n finishing them outside. Thanks again! Ooo I almost forgot how many bulbs would you recommend for just two NL's? Was gonna go with multiple plants but I'm still learning soo wanna slow the amount down..

4. dude you need to check you cap and igniter or the corresponding peices in the ballast enc.
    you can buy new ones for hella cheap at any good hydro store or on amazon. you should really check it out.

5. #5 Cityboyz239, Jun 10, 2011